Reset the 2big Network 2 or the 5big Network 2
The procedure below will reset the 2big Network 2 or 5big Network 2 configuration, users, groups, shares, and reset the administrator password to "admin"
IMPORTANT NOTE: Following the procedure below can ERASE ALL DATA on the drive. Prior to following these directions, verify important data is stored securely on a different storage device.
- Plug in the drive, power it on, then shut it down again using the power switch. Wait until the machine fully shuts down on its own before going to the next step. DO NOT UNPLUG THE POWER SUPPLY.
- Press and hold the button on the front, and switch the machine ON. The light on the front will blink blue and red. Continue holding the button down until the light stops blinking and is solid red.
- When it stops blinking, release the button. The light will change to the blue color, and begin blinking again. Do nothing until the light stops blinking, and is a steady blue color.
- Press, but do not hold, the button on the front. The drive will restart automatically.
The system will now boot with its default factory settings.
NOTE: After the reset, share names will appear as "recovered_ShareName_..." and should contain the data in each share prior to the reset.